As you may remember, TRAPPED was a finalist at the large Florida Writers RPLA contest, and I just got the results…and the rating sheets from the 3 judges.

First, 2 judges read the synopsis and the 1st 30 pages, and they rate 10 areas, from 1 – 5 points…so a max total of 50. An entry needs at least 80 pts. to become a finalist. TRAPPED received 92, and the judge giving 48 pts. loved character development and the way I described the action, solely through my protagonists eyes. It was my editor at TAG who suggested a single, 1st person point of view throughout, and I agreed. It wasn’t easy, but in the end, we both felt it was terrific.

Unfortunately, the critic who read the entire book didn’t agree with us…or the earlier judges. He downrated the book because he wanted scenes from other characters’ viewpoints. As I always say, “That’s why they make chocolate, vanilla and 39 other flavors.”

This isn’t the 1st time I’ve had one judge rave about something, like characters or scenes or settings, while another denigrated them. It’s the same reasons authors like Louis L’Amore (America’s top Western writer…for EVER) was rejected 350 time before finally getting published. And J.K. Rowling, probably the wealthy woman in the World right now, struggled for years before finding a small publisher to take a chance on Harry Potter. The stories of rejection are legion, because you can’t accommodate for taste.

Luckily, TRAPPED has already received three 5-Star reviews at Amazon, and I’ve flieded a plethora of calls and e-mail raves from the first readers. So I think I’ll cherish the good reviews and ignore the others. I suggest this attitude should work for all of you, no matter what your endeavors.

